Friday, April 3, 2020

Daily Archives: August 7, 2007

Stem Cell Scientist Sets Record Straight on Spinal Cord Injury Trials

Published: August 7, 2007

hansThere’s been lots of confusion and some mischaracterizations about when the first embryonic stem cell clinical trial might take place and what it might treat. Spinal cord injury has been a leading candidate. Hans Keirstead, a scientist at the University of California at Irvine has been at the center of the discussions. His work, which has helped rats with severed spinal cords “walk” again, is funded by Geron, a biotech company in Northern California. Geron executives have adjusted their timeline for trials several times, which is perhaps understandable but has led to some of the confusion.

Keirstead has addressed a spinal cord injury message board to clear things up. He’s got three projects in the works, the first of which does not use stem cells at all (it’s an Antibody, thanks Steven!) The second will use embryonic stem cells to treat acute (i.e. recent) spinal cord injures. The third and newest effort addresses chronic spinal cord injuries.

RRTC Web Cast on Pain and Spinal Cord Injury -Monday August 13

Published: August 7, 2007

The Rehabilitation Research and Training Center on Spinal Cord Injury (RRTC on SCI) for a Web cast on Pain and Spinal Cord Injury (SCI). The RRTC on SCI is a program of the National Rehabilitation Hospital in collaboration with ILRU.

Dr. Martin Grabois with Baylor College of Medicine will present the web cast “Pain and Spinal Cord Injury” on Monday, August 13, 2007 at 2:00pm Central; 3:00pm Eastern; 1:00pm Mountain; 12:00pm Pacific.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!